John 11:1-45 Lazarus

chocseedslogotakeup.jpgchoc 2 die 4.jpg
Chocolate Seeds for Lent 2005
Week 5, March 15: The Den, led by Marcus Curnow
Biblical Text: John 11:1-45 Death by Chocolate: The Death & Raising of Lazarus
World Texts: Songs from “O’ Brother Where art Thou” Soundtrack
Revised Common Lectionary: Year A, Fifth Sunday in Lent
Loosley based on Christ and the Choclaterie: A Lent Course, Hilary Brand, (Darton Longman Todd, London, 2002)_


John 11:1-45 The Death and Raising of Lazarus
Method: Lectio Divina
Listening for the Gentle Touch of Christ the Word (The Literal Sense)
1. One person reads the passage of scripture aloud, followed by another (preferably male/female) as others are attentive to some segment that is especially meaningful to them.
2. Silence for 1-2 minutes. Each hears and silently repeats a word or phrase that attracts.
3. Sharing aloud: [A word or phrase that has attracted each person]. A simple statement of one or a few words. No elaboration.
How Christ the Word speaks to ME (The Allegorical Sense)
4. Play “Po Lazarus” James Carter & the Prisoners, O’Brother Where Art Thou Soundtrack

Well, the high sheriff
He told his deputy
Want you go out and bring me Lazarus
Well, the high sheriff
Told his deputy
I want you go out and bring me Lazarus
Bring him dead or alive,
Lawd, Lawd
Bring him dead or alive
Well the deputy he told the high sheriff
I ain’t gonna mess with Lazarus
Well the deputy he told the high sheriff
Says I ain’t gonna mess with Lazarus
Well he’s a dangerous man
Lawd, Lawd

Well then the high sheriff, he found Lazarus
He was hidin’ in the chill of a mountain
Well the high sheriff, found Lazarus
He was hidin’ in the chill of the mountain
With his head hung down
Lawd, Lawd
With his head hung down
Well then the high sheriff, he told Lazarus
He says Lazarus I come to arrest you
Well the high sheriff, told Lazarus
Says Lazarus I come to arrest you
And bring ya dead or alive
Lawd, Lawd
Bring you dead or alive
He’s a dangerous man
Well then Lazarus, he told the high sheriff
Says I never been arrested
Well Lazarus, told the high sheriff
Says I never been arrested
By no one man
Lawd, Lawd
By no one man
And then the high sheriff, he shot Lazarus
Well, he shot him mighty big number
Well the high sheriff, shot Lazarus
Well he shot him with a mighty big number
With a forty five
Lawd, Lawd
With a forty five
Well then they take old Lazarus
Yes they laid him on the commissary gallery
Well they taken poor Lazarus
And the laid him on the commissary gallery
He said my wounded side
Lawd, Lawd
My wounded side

(I like the Po Lazarus song as Lazarus himself becomes a hunted man after his raising immediately following this text)
5. Silence for 2-3 minutes. Reflect on “Where does the content of this reading touch my life today?”
6. Sharing aloud: Briefly: “I hear, I see…”
What Christ the Word Invites me to DO (The Moral Sense)
7. Play “O Death” Ralph Stanley

O, Death, O, Death
Won’t you spare me over til another year
Well what is this that I can’t see
With ice cold hands takin’ hold of me
Well I am death, none can excel
I’ll open the door to heaven or hell
Whoa, death someone would pray
Could you wait to call me another day
The children prayed, the preacher preached
Time and mercy is out of your reach
I’ll fix your feet til you cant walk
I’ll lock your jaw til you cant talk
I’ll close your eyes so you can’t see
This very air, come and go with me
I’m death I come to take the soul
Leave the body and leave it cold
To draw up the flesh off of the frame
Dirt and worm both have a claim
O, Death, O, Death
Won’t you spare me over til another year
My mother came to my bed
Placed a cold towel upon my head
My head is warm my feet are cold
Death is a-movin upon my soul
Oh, death how you’re treatin’ me
You’ve close my eyes so I can’t see
Well you’re hurtin’ my body
You make me cold
You run my life right outta my soul
Oh death please consider my age
Please don’t take me at this stage
My wealth is all at your command
If you will move your icy hand
Oh the young, the rich or poor
Hunger like me you know
No wealth, no ruin, no silver no gold
Nothing satisfies me but your soul
O, death, O, death
Wont you spare me over til another year x3

8. Silence for 2-3 minutes. Reflect on “I believe that God wants me to . . . . . . today/this week.”
9. Sharing aloud: at somewhat greater length the results of each one’s reflection. [Be especially aware of what is shared by the person to your right.]
10. After full sharing, pray for the person to your right.
Note: Anyone may “pass” at any time. If instead of sharing with the group you prefer to pray silently , simply state this aloud and conclude your silent prayer with Amen.
11.Played “Jesus Blood Never Failed Me Yet” with a powerpoint of slides from the whole chocolate seeds for lent series and the crucifixion.

Leave a Reply

